Passing the Gear Along

I’v sent the beyerdynamic A20 amp along with the Pro-Ject Box E DAC to a friend for further evaluation. I love the Box E, but the A20 leaves room for improvement.

I did run the Box E into a Bottlehead Crack with Speedball upgrade and loved the synergy with the Sennheiser HD800. The HD800 I had at the time had the Super Dupont Resonator Mod added along with some damping material around the drive which smooths out the treble. If you are looking for a great combo the HD800 / Crack + Speedball / Box E sounded full, tame, and at times too bassy which surprised me because the HD800 is bright sounding. Just be careful not the clip the Crack’s input with the output from the DAC as this leads to noticeable distortion. I ran into this issue using a Chord Mojo I had laying around. I forgot to turn down voltage on the Mojo and it clipped the input on the Crack making it sound almost unlistenable.

Leave a comment