SHURE SRH 1540 Review

SPECS:

https://www.shure.com/americas/products/headphones/srh1540-premium-closed-back-headphones#detailshttp://schiit.com/products/jotunheim/

 

WHERE TO BUY / COST:

Amazon

https://www.amazon.com/Shure-SRH1540-Premium-Closed-Back-Headphones/dp/B00FR8DMR8

Headphone.com

Shure SRH1540 Premium Closed-Back Studio Headphones

Average Price :$499

You can find them heavily discounted

OVERVIEW

Shure has been manufacturing good-sounding gear for years now. For more than a decade I’ve seen them move from the in-ear market to the full-sized headphone market. The SRH 1540 is one such headphone. It is one of the most well-made headphones I’ve owned or seen. It sounds really good for those who enjoy a V-shaped sound signature.

AESTHETICS

DSC_0132

The headphones themselves come nicely packed into a solid plastic box. The pads are super thick and cushy making them the most comfortable headphone I’ve had the pleasure of placing on my head and ears. The headband is simple coming down and attaching to the earcups with a dual-hinged yoke. They feel sturdy and flexible. They adjust easily so if you have a small or large head you should have no problems finding the correct fit.

The earcups come with what looks like carbon fiber inserts, but I think the materials is actually vinyl sheeting. It does add a nice touch to the aesthetics of the earcups.

SRH1540_Cup_Out

Rest assured that the 1540 has you covered in regards to a nice-looking headphone that will last.

ACOUSTICS

The sound signature is V-shaped. It takes some listening to unveil what it really sounds like because at lower volumes the frequency response is more linear, but as the volume is increased the V-shape is highlighted. The bass is thick and fun-sounding. The strum of the bass string on a guitar or the heavy hit of a bass drum come through true. To my ears there are instances where the bass too much so if you are sensitive to bass this may not be the headphone for you.

The midrange is up-front and clean. It presents both female and male focals easily. I find the midrange non-fatiguing and pleasing. The treble is consistent with a V-shape. Some extra energy can be found in the 5kHz – 7kHz region so if you tend to be extra sensitive here be warned. I didn’t find it a problem with my gear and I’m sensitive to excess treble.

Unfortunately the bass became too much for me during long listening sessions. It made began to sound bloated and over-emphasized. I was easily distracted by the bass and driven away from the midrange where I like to focus. If you like extra bass without it drowning absolutely everything out then the 1540 might just be for you.

Here are the measurements that Tyll did over at Innerfidelity.

https://www.innerfidelity.com/content/cool-comfy-and-competent-shure-srh1540-measurements

CONCLUSION

The SRH 1540 is one of the best fitting headphones I’ve seen period. It fits comfortably around my ears and the extra thick pads make if really easy to wear for long periods. Sadly the bass is over-emphasized keeping the headphone from being a top pick for me, but I say if you enjoy a little extra bass then the 1540 is a must try.

Leave a comment